Go to top of page

Meet the locals behind the new Eureka Centre Community Advisory Committee

8 February 2019

Seven Ballarat residents have been appointed as members of the new Eureka Centre Community Advisory Committee.

In October 2018, Ballarat City Council approved the establishment of the Eureka Centre Community Advisory Committee and officially appointed the seven committtee members.

The committee was established to provide strategic advice to inform the transition and re-establishment of the Eureka Centre, following the closure of the Museum of Australian Democracy in April 2018.

The committee will serve as a resource of knowledge and advice on matters relating to the promotion, commemoration and celebration of the Eureka Stockade and its legacy.

The committee is chaired by the City of Ballarat Mayor Cr Samantha McIntosh.  Deputy Mayor Jim Rinaldi and Cr Daniel Maloney are also represented, with Council officers contributing in an ex-officio capacity.

The City of Ballarat has appointed seven community representatives, who are experts in the fields of education, history, heritage, media, economic development and tourism, to ensure strong stakeholder involvement in the development of the Eureka Centre.

Providing a critical link between the City of Ballarat, the people of Ballarat, and the Eureka story, the committee will provide recommendations and advice to the City of Ballarat from a skills-based perspective on the ongoing interpretation of the Eureka story. 

“The committee will help realise Council’s directive to reimagine the Eureka Centre as a vibrant community hub and visitor attraction that honours the legacy of the 1854 Eureka Stockade uprising,” Ballarat Mayor and Eureka Centre Community Advisory Committee Chair said.

“From a very impressive field of candidates we have appointed a dynamic group of people who bring to the table a wide range of experiences and knowledge. 

“Eureka is something that evokes a lot of passion in our community. It is important that we involve our community in developing a new vision for the Eureka Centre during this important time of renewal,”

The committee met formally for the first time on 3 December 2018 to contribute to the development of an Interpretive Plan for the Eureka Centre.

The Interpretive Plan will establish a long-term vision for the Eureka Centre and the site it sits that reflects aspects of the Eureka story and site of most importance to the community, including those with a deep connection to the history of the Eureka Stockade.

Community members can also contribute to the Interpretive Plan by sharing their thoughts on the future of the Eureka Centre through an online survey. 

To complete the survey, visit mysay.ballarat.vic.gov.au before the 31 March 2019.

Community drop-in sessions will also be held on Thursday 21 and Tuesday 26 March from 2.30pm to 7pm at the Eureka Centre.

Eureka Centre Community Advisory Committee Members (alphabetical order by last name)

Dr Fred Cahir is an Associate Professor in Aboriginal History at Federation University Australia. His research interests are colonial Aboriginal history and Indigenous ecological knowledge.

Ron Egeberg
 has held senior management roles in the arts, cultural tourism, retail, hospitality, events, government and media sectors. Highlights include spending nine years as a senior manager with local television station BTV6, owning and operating Porter’s Restaurant and Bar from 1991 to 1995, Director of the Ballarat Begonia Festival from 1997 to 2002, Director of the Eureka Centre from 2002 to 2008, and Manager Arts and Culture at the City of Ballarat from 2008 to 2012.


Serena Eldridge is Industry and Development Manager at Visit Ballarat – a role that involves working with the industry to drive revenue and encourage product development. Serena was previously employed by Fairfax Media (ACM) as the Group Marketing Manager for VIC/TAS and NSW overseeing the marketing and sponsorship activity of more than 60 individual newspapers.
She has won numerous state and national awards for her media campaigns and marketing initiatives.

Samantha Fabry is the former Collections Manager at Freemasons Victoria. She is currently completing a Doctorate in Philosophy (PhD) on World Heritage museums, the 1972 Convention and collections at the University of Leicester in the Museum Studies department.

Ross Haby has previously worked as the Manager of Economic Development for the City of Ballarat and was the inaugural CEO of the Committee for Ballarat. He has extensive experience in regional economic, community and business development and has led and brokered major community and business development projects. Until recently he was General Manager of Gforce Employment Solutions and currently works as a business consultant.

Dr Mary-Rose McLaren is Associate Professor, College of Arts and Education at Victoria University. She is presently a board member of Her Majesty’s Theatre and a board director of Royal South Street Society. She has extensive background in theatre education and in making theatre that supports community capacity building and wellbeing.

Phillip Moore is the past President and an honorary life member of Eureka’s Children
the association for descendants of those involved in the events surrounding the Eureka Stockade. Phillip’s working life has been multi-disciplinary, including substantial engagement with community, academia and all three levels of government. Through this experience he has demonstrated skills in planning, management, consultancy, teaching, writing and publishing – all of which underline the various occupations and committee positions he has held.